Steep of the Week–Passion by Tazo

February 10, 2010

Passion in a bag…hmmm.  If only it could be so easy.

Yes, of course I’m a bit of a skeptic.  Big name to live up to.  But here we are the week before St. Valentine’s Day, and folks have love on the brain.  Or at the very least the aforementioned Passion….

In Tazo’s words, “a magical blend of hibiscus, lemongrass, rose hips, and mango & passion fruit flavours.”

Magical might go a little far…

After steeping just three minutes, the predominant taste is sour.  (Sometimes love goes o so bad. Like a nice heavy cream.)  Sour doesn’t usually conjure magic by itself, but I do taste something else too:  a hint of sweetness offered by the licorice.  Still, all (undifferentiated) things lead to the TANG, and I must admit that is one passionate tang–like lots of citric acid right in the middle of one’s tongue.

I am sorry I didn’t get a photo of the color.  It is one beautiful liquid–the loveliest shade of rose pink.  Or maybe a little darker.  Pretty color achieved through fruit juice extract.  The effect is pleasing, and it smells like it tastes, too.

In short, if passion were truly a taste, I don’t imagine my ideal tasting like this–but I’m sure someone’s would.

Variety is the spice of life, as my mother used to say…

And on that note, may your Valentine’s Day (and every day) be filled with the spicy, tangy, passion that is right for you.  kt

Lei compliments of my dear Karen G.

2 Responses to “Steep of the Week–Passion by Tazo”

  1. Sel Says:

    passion is really the wrong name for this tea. Once steeped, it has a very lovely color.. but a few sips into this brew has you feeling pretty passionless. It’s acidic all right. Like kool aid before you add the sugar. Soo- I am sorry Tazo. I am usually impressed by your teas, but not this time.

  2. wiseleaf Says:

    Did you buy a whole box, dear? kt


Leave a Reply

